2014 Porsche 918 Spyder Record Breaking Sale!

PLUS: Auctions ending today that you may have missed...

The Daily Vroom


Good morning, Vroomers!

You’ve been asking for more spotlights on our featured auctions, so this week, I’m diving deep into the auction platforms to dig up those hidden gems you might have missed. I'll be sharing my takes on these not-so-obvious finds.

If there’s anything specific you want to see more of, or if you’ve got ideas for new features, don’t hesitate to drop me a line. I’m all ears!

WEEKEND TOP 5 SALES

Once again, the big sales happen over the weekend. Fantastic sale by Collecting Cars for the wonderful Porsche 918 Spyder (more on them tomorrow).

Click on the image to be taken directly to the listing.

2014 Porsche 918 Spyder $1,170,800

1995 Porsche 911 Carrera RS Clubsport $279,000

1969 Chevrolet Camaro $235,000

1998 Porsche 911 Carrera S Coupe 6-Speed $200,000

First-Production-Fuelie 1957 Chevrolet Corvette 283/283 $176,000

Spotlight On Auctions Ending Today

I always love highlighting these R63 wagons. They were thoroughly misunderstood when new, and nice unmolested examples like this are getting harder to find. If the E63 is your speed, but seems just a little too small for your needs, and your children are just too big for the rear facing jumper seats, this is the ride to bring home. This one has been serviced and sorted. With 140K miles, you don't need to worry about adding more. 

A true and sorted classic. My cousin was just visiting from France and he was asking for my advice on the perfect vehicle for the house they are renovating in the countryside. I suggested last week's featured G55, but that auction had already closed. This would be a close second choice. It has room for the kids and a CRANE to lift all of their luggage. OK, I am not sure whether I would left the crane in place when restoring this one, but it is certainly a unique feature for the right buyer.

This Miata is a late NA model that is dialed in and lightly modified. These are all of the pure enjoyment of a classic english roadster, with Japanese reliability. People often ask me what my recommendation is for an affordable and enjoyable entry point into classic car ownership. This listing is a great example of what I would look for. 

Listings for clean, honest 993s are getting more rare. What would have been a simple spec car when new, has held up really well. Would I love to see a cooler color combination, sure. Would C4 have given this more all weather capability, yes. That being said, this is a great, low mileage, no nonsense 993, and there aren't many of those coming to market these days.

We all know it is a replica with an engine swap, but I think this is a really cool build. I have seen other Alpha 1 GTOs come to market that are incomplete basket cases. It is nice to see one that is cared for and running.

The comments have been somewhat harsh, but I think that is unfair and I think this would be a lot of fun to own. The seller could have come to the table with more photos and more detail at the onset, but he seems to have held his own in the comments. This no reserve auction may well sell at far under market at this rate

I love watching and reporting on Alumni listings. Last sold in January 2022 (https://bringatrailer.com/listing/1986-ferrari-328-gts-30/) when purchased from a 36 year owner, this car is being relisted with the selling dealer. The original owner is engaged in the comments and this great car has been preserved with only 7K miles showing. This might be your last chance to experience what it was like to bring a new 328 GTS home from the dealership in 1986.

Reply

or to participate.