European vs US Cars: Which Are More Valuable?

PLUS: Unpacking Questionable View Metrics

The Daily Vroom

Good morning, Vroomers!

Thank you for all your feedback; please keep it coming. I love receiving all your emails.

Today, one email from you led me down a rabbit hole of auction views that we discuss below.

See you tomorrow.

Sam

MARKET LEADERBOARD

💰 The figures shared below don’t count any other sales such as car seats, memorabilia etc… All online auction sites are analyzed to put this leaderboard together.

I only include websites that have sold 5+ cars in the chart below.

Yesterday marked one of the better Mondays for sales, with $6.2 million worth of vehicles sold and an average sale price of $38,000. Continuing the trend from last week, Bring a Trailer (BaT) has again surpassed the 100-vehicle mark, selling 100 vehicles.

Below, you can see the breakdown of sales into their respective price segments, with nearly 50% of the sales coming from vehicles priced between $0 and $20,000.

YESTERDAY’S TOP 5 SALES

Like yesterday, we're including a breakdown of comparable auctions under each one.

To view each listing, you can click on the cars.

2005 Mercedes-Benz CLK DTM $400,850

I think the price differential between the May Sale and the sale yesterday seems to be the location of the sale. With yesterday’s sale happening in the UK (RHD) vs the one last month here in the US. (LHD).

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II $328,000

The price differential between the two March sales again seems to be the location of the sale. With the cheaper version being sold in Europe.

Is this a trend of just two sales? or is this happening across the board? With potential bargains abroad, maybe it makes sense for US buyers to look at vehicles across the other side of the water? I will dig deeper and report back my findings. In the meantime, search yourselves and let me know what you find.

2018 Porsche 911 GT3 Touring 6-Speed $256,000

1996 Porsche 911 (993) Carrera 4S $191,000

Lowest mileage sold for the most!

1999 Ferrari 550 Maranello $170,000

Unpacking Questionable View Metrics

Alright Vroomers, had an interesting request hit my inbox today from one of our community members. They wanted to know if we could share which vehicles have been attracting the most eyeballs lately. I'll admit, that's an intriguing idea - getting insight into what rides are truly piquing public interest is always valuable.

So I fired up our trusty Daily Vroom analyzer, pulled view data from all the major auction sites that provide that metric, and sorted the top 5 most viewed. But before unveiling that tantalizing list, there's some background I need to lay out first.

A while back, this notorious industry vet pulled me aside and dropped some knowledge - apparently, not all sites are fully transparent with their listed view counts. Shady practice, but I had that nugget planted in my brain.

Sure enough, as I was combing through the data, one particular site's numbers jumped out like a sore thumb with some mind-boggling view tallies. I'm talking 60k+, even over 100k views on certain auctions! For context, the most viewed auction on BaT yesterday topped out around 33k.

My spidey senses immediately started tingling. I checked if they were potentially running sponsored ads driving traffic to those specific listings. From what I could see, they're running promos for sure, but nothing targeting those individual cars.

So now I'm really scratching my head over here at Daily Vroom HQ. How is this site's view data so astronomically higher than every other platform? I don't want to drag their name unnecessarily, especially if it was some tiny fish. But we're talking Hagerty Marketplace - one of the major players.

If any of you have theories on what's behind their peculiar view metrics, I'm all ears. That said, there could be a legitimate reason their view counts are so high - perhaps there is some type of integration with insurance quotes drives serious eyeballs?

As for that top 5 most viewed list from yesterday, I double checked and didn't find any sponsored ads fueling those specific listings.

So there you have it folks - a potential view count conspiracy to gnaw on for now. But I'm determined to crack this nut, one way or another! Let me know if you have any intel.

Now let’s go to the most viewed auction from yesterday in order.

You can view the auction by clicking on the image.

2001 Honda Prelude Type SH 5-Speed

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II

2019 BMW R nineT Nostalgia

1974 Airstream International Land Yacht Sovereign

1966 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe 427/425 L72 4-Speed

Poll Feedback

After yesterday's post on Cars & Bids' 2024 revenue, we asked you 'Do you think Cars & Bids will continue to grow their revenue significantly?' The results were split evenly, with 50% voting yes and 50% voting no.

I interpret this 50/50 divide as indicating that people are unsure whether Cars & Bids will continue to aggressively pursue revenue growth in the second half of the year. Time will tell.

Below are a selection of your comments:

As Always. Great Job. The Feds Should Hire You. At A Very Substantial Salary of course. We Might Get Out Of The Debt Incurred For The Past 248 Years. I have liked Cars and Bids or a while. If descriptions are to be believed by the seller. Cars and Bids does have some good lower/medium price cars.

We’ve had a number of clients who have come to the online auction space by submitting their vehicle to C&B, having found out about the platform through Doug Demuro’s YouTube videos. None of them had ever heard of BaT! Don’t discount Doug’s footprint on YouTube and its ability to help drive more sales.

I don’t agree with your suggestion that the lowest category represents people dumping their vehicles. I think that the ‘velvet rope’ of entry I to the on-li e car sale world by eliminating the seller fee is one of the big reasons for that segment’s growth. In that segment I would venture that there are few if any reserve value auctions thus guaranteeing cash flow. I feel that Cars and Bids may not be monitoring the auctions and mentoring new sellers as much as BaT, so less direct labor for each transaction. With the computer power in place to handle the volume, the money flows in.

Enjoying The Daily Vroom?

Pay it forward by sharing this newsletter with an automotive aficionado in your circles. Your endorsement allows us to accelerate our growth.

Send them to thedailyvroom.com to subscribe for free.

Reply

or to participate.